The Cannabis Control Act makes it a crime to possess marijuana in the state of Illinois. The severity of the penalties for possession of marijuana vary depending upon the quantity of the drug possessed.
At the lowest level, possession of 2.5 grams or less of marijuana is a Class C misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500. At the high end, possession of more than 5,000 grams of marijuana is a Class 1 felony, punishable by 4-20 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. The chart below lays out the range of penalties by quantity.
Penalties for Possession of Marijuana in Illinois
|Quantity of Marijuana||Classification||Term of Incarceration||Maximum Fine|
|Up to 2.5 grams||Class C Misdemeanor||Up to 30 days||Up to $1,500|
|More than 2.5 but not more than 10 grams||Class B Misdemeanor||Up to six months||Up to $1,500|
|More than 10 but not more than 30 grams||Class A Misdemeanor||Less than 1 year||Up to $2,500|
|More than 30 but not more than 500 grams||Class 4 Felony||1 to 3 years||Up to $25,000|
|More than 500 but not more than 2,000 grams||Class 3 Felony||2 to 5 years||Up to $25,000|
|More than 2,000 but not more than 5,000 grams||Class 2 Felony||3 to 7 years||Up to $25,000|
|More than 5,000 grams||Class 1 Felony||4 to 15 years||Up to $25,000|
In some cases, the penalties will be more severe and the classification of the crime more serious for subsequent offenses. Penalties are also more severe for manufacture and distribution of marijuana than for simple possession. “Casual delivery,” or the delivery of 10 grams or less of marijuana without receiving consideration, is punished as simple possession.
Conviction for possession of marijuana, especially at the felony level, may have consequences that go beyond the incarceration and fines described above. For example, a drug conviction may preclude certain types of employment, and a felony conviction will disqualify you from receiving a FOID card or trigger revocation if you already hold one.
Protect Your Future – Talk to a Marijuana Possession Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with possession of marijuana, you have a lot at stake. But, a marijuana possession charge doesn’t necessarily mean a marijuana possession conviction. The state has the burden of proving each element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt, and doing so with evidence that was obtained legally and is introduced properly.
As a criminal defense attorney who interned in the prosecutor’s office, I have the knowledge and experience to hold the prosecution to that standard, and to identify weaknesses in the state’s case and build your defense.
Don’t gamble with your future. Schedule an appointment for a free consultation today by calling 309-752-8500 or filling out the contact form on this website.